Where to go in Kyiv: Top of prominent places in our city

Where to go in Kyiv: Top of prominent places in our city

St. Michael’s Cathedral

St. Michael’s Cathedral of the Golden Domes and its Monastery

St. Michael’s Cathedral was built in 1108-13 by Prince Svyatopolk (Michael) Izyaslavych of Kyiv in his “paternal” St. Demetrios’ Monastery. In 1240, the temple was plundered by Khan Batu’s hordes, the traces of St.Demetrios’ Monastery disappeared even earlier. Not later than the 14th cent., St.Michael’s Church became a monastery cathedral. The Cathedral contained one of the best known Christian sacred object – the relics of St.Barbara. The temple and the Monastery were particularly important for Kyivites, as Archangel Michael is considered the divine patron of Kyiv. In 1934-37, the Cathedral – a masterpiece of the 12th-18th cent. Architecture and arts – was destroyed along with many other monastery structures of the 18th-19th cent. Only the refectory with the Church of St. John Chrysostom has survived. In 1994, the monastic community reappeared. The Monastery belongs to OUC-KP.   

St. Sophia Cathedral

St. Sophia Cathedral

The majestic Cathedral of St. Sopia was built in the first half of the 11th century. This is one of the oldest cathedrals of the Kyivan Rus, which continues to be preserved today. This masterpiece of medieval architecture occupies the first place in the world by the amount of the conserved mosaics and frescos from the 11th c. The St. Sophia of Kyiv complex too is included in the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage List.  

The Kyiv Pechers`ka Lavra

The Kyiv Pechers`ka Lavra

Built in 1051, the monastery serves as a historical and cultural symbol of Kyiv, which  creates spiritual and cultural value for the Ukrainian nation and also as a spiritual center of the Christian world. Over centuries, the monastery has transformed into a cradle of biblical and evangelical traditions, enriched with works of literature, architecture and art. The Lavra's architectural structure is included in the UNESCO World Cultural Heritage List.  

Vydubychi St. Michael’s Monastery

Vydubychi St. Michael’s Monastery

Vydubychi Monastery is one of the famous and historic monasteries in Kyiv. It was founded in 1070 by Prince Vsevolod Yaroslavych. According to legend, the name of the monestary  is associated with the Christianization of Rus. At that time, St. Michael’s Cathedral was the main temple. In the 16th century, landslides resulted in the eastern side of the monastery to fall into the Dnipro. In 1555, the church went under renovation to be restored to its original structure In 1924, the government closed the monastery. It was reopened in 1992 and now belongs to the  Ukrainian Orthodox Church - Kyiv Patriarchate.

Kyiv Mohyla Academy

Kyiv Mohyla Academy

The founding of this outstanding institution was established by a wealthy woman, the wife of Marshal Halshka Hulevychivna. In 1615, she presented this generous gift in support of the Kyiv Epiphany Brotherhood, in her defense to protect Orthodoxy from the oppression suffered under Catholicism and the United Church. A Brotherhood school was established in the house, and a Brotherhood monastery was set up in the estate. In 160, the Brotherhood was visited by Hetman P. Sahaydachnyi along with the Zaporozhye army, which guaranteed the monastery protection and well being. The glorious Hetman Sahadachnyi was buried on the grounds of the monastery.

Prince Volodymyr the Great Monument

Prince Volodymyr the Great Monument

This is a monument commemorating Prince  Volodymyr - the Baptizer of Rus, and was the first sculpture monument in Kyiv. It was designed by a St Petersburg's sculptor V. Demut-Malinovsky, built by Baron P. Klodt, and architected by Professor O. Ton. The statue depicts the saintly king with a cross in his right hand with the royal crown in his left as he is baptizing Kyivites, also the royal Order of St. Volodymyr, the symbols of Christianization “fire and sword”  and the emblem of Kyiv, Archangel Michael.

Mariyinskiy Palace

Mariyinskiy Palace

In 1744, The Empress Elizabeth Petrovna, whilst residing in Kyiv, chose this site for the building of a palace for the Tsar's visits. It was constructed by the architect I. Michurin in Baroque style, and was completed in 1752. The Palace stood in a picturesque setting overlooking the Dnipro and was easily accessible to the Lavra sanctuaries. In 1787, Catherine II was the first of the ruling monarchs to visit it during journey to Tavrida. Kyiv River station.

Kyiv River station

Kyiv River station

The Kyiv River Station is located in Podil near Poshtova Square.

From the port you can enjoy unforgettable trips on the River Dnipro, taking in the unfolding panorama of the city upon its banks.

Not far from the port is the unique St Nicholas the Miracleworker 's Church, built on the river bank and consecrated on 7 July 2003 - St John's Day.

Also near the River Station is The Nativity of Jesus Church, restored in 2004.

This Church is notable for the event that took place in May 1861, when the tomb containing the remains of Taras Shevchenko was installed in it during its transfer from Petersburg to Kanev.

The House with Chimeras

The House with Chimeras

This architectural masterpiece in modernist style is the product of the imagination of V.Horodets'kyi, Kyiv's architect-cum-romantic, and genuine experimenter. 

At the beginning of the XX-th century, the house challenged architectural norms with its new style and latest technologies used in the construction. 
The famous architect, called "Kyiv's Gaudi", created a fantasy world with figures of mythical creatures on the front-side of the house. Some of his most celebrated works are a compilation of rhinoceroses, antelopes, lizards, frogs and mythical maidens riding on fish. 

Park and Monument to Taras Shevchenko

Park and Monument to Taras Shevchenko

This cozy nook in downtown Kyiv has other places of interest as well. The park was established in 1890. In 1939, a monument commemorating Taras Shevchenko was placed in its center. 

Interestingly, the statue of the great son of Ukraine stands on the place of a monument to its persecutor – Tsar Nicolas I (1896, demolished in 1920). 


Among them,  a fountain in the shape of the Black Sea, a place for chess players and Kyiv’s oldest public lavatory, built even before the 1917 revolution. The park’s area is 5.4 ha. 

St. Volodymr’s Cathedral

St. Volodymr’s Cathedral

This classic building of the Rus-Byzantine style was built in 1862-82. 

in 1896, after completion of the church’s interior, the cathedral was consecrated in the presence of Emperor Nicholas ll. 

In 1929, the Cathedral was closed and converted into a museum of antireligious propaganda. 

In 1943, it was restored to a Cathedral of Kyiv. Since 1992, it has been the main church of the Ukrainian Orthodox Church - Kyiv Patriarchate. It is the holder of relics such as those of St. Barbara and St. Makariya. 

Monument to the Founders of Kyiv

Monument to the Founders of Kyiv

Established in 1982 in commemoration of the 1500th anniversary of Kyiv, Shek, Horiv and their sister Lebid.

The monument is made out of forged brass. 
The people of like to celebrate weddings at this moment because, according to legend, it brings happiness. 

Park of Eternal Glory

Park of Eternal Glory

It was opened in 1957 as an integral part of the memorial complex.  

A 27-meter obelisk in memory of the Unknown Soldier stands in the center of the park.

An eternal flame burns at the foot of the obelisk and of the tomb of the Unknown Soldier. 

The road that leads to the monument is a 60- meter alley. Along of the alley are 34 tombs of soldier-heroes that fell during the defense and liberation of Kyiv from Nazi invaders. 

Monument to Bohdan Khmelnytstsky

Monument to Bohdan Khmelnytstsky

The monument was funded by donations. 

The bronze statue was cast in St.Petersburg in 1879. In 1881, it was placed on a pedestal in St. Sophia Sqaure. 

Andriivs`kyi Uzviz

Andriivs`kyi Uzviz

The monument was funded by donations. 

The bronze statue was cast in St.Petersburg in 1879. In 1881, it was placed on a pedestal in St. Sophia Sqaure. 

This unique and picturesque is called "The Monmartre of Kyiv" for being the center of folk craftsmen, painters and antiquarians. 

On this street, you can also see the gorgeous "Castle of Richard the Lion Heart" and a masterpiece of architect Rastrelli — the St. Andrew's Church. But the most interesting legends of Andriivs'kyi Uzviz are connected to people who lived here. 

Among them was M. Bulhakov, a famous writer whose museum is located on this street at house number 13.  There are plenty of surrounding museums, galleries, antique shops, gift stores and art studios. 

Uzviz is a favorite street to stroll for the Kyivans and city guests. Here also you can purchase beautiful souvenirs from all over Ukraine.

Golden Gate

Golden Gate

The gate was built in 1037 by Prince Yaroslav the Wise. 

The construction was crowned by the Holy Blessed Virgin Annunciation Church with a glided dome and crest. After the attack of Batu Khan in 1240, the Golden Gate began gradually deteriorating. Nevertheless, the gate continued to serve as an entrance to the city for about another five centuries. 

In 1982, for the celebration of Kyiv’s 1,500th anniversary, the Golden Gate was reconstructed to its original form. Visitors can see the ancient reuins of the original gate incise the gate structure as well as visit its museum.